Mount kilimanjaro (highest in africa) machame route

6 Jours | Arusha, Tanzanie
-fp1sbxBOTV.jpeg
Plus de photos

LA RANDONNEE DE 6 JOURS DE KILIMANJARO (route machame)


Le Kilimandjaro est la plus haute montagne d'Afrique

La route Machame, également appelée route du "whisky", est la route la plus populaire du Kilimandjaro. Le tirage au sort de Machame est dans sa beauté pittoresque. Cependant, le sentier est considéré comme difficile, raide et difficile, notamment en raison de son itinéraire plus court. Par conséquent, cet itinéraire est mieux adapté aux personnes les plus aventureuses ou ayant une expérience de haute altitude, de randonnée ou de sac à dos.


Jour 1: Porte Machame (1490m) - Camp Machame (2980m)

Durée de la randonnée: 7 heures

Distance: environ 18 kilomètres

Habitat: forêt de montagne

Après un petit-déjeuner matinal à votre hôtel, vous serez pris en charge à Arusha (1400 m) et conduit au village de Machame. Dans le village, vous pouvez acheter de l'eau minérale et vous recevrez un panier-repas. Depuis le village, en fonction des conditions de la route, vous pourrez continuer à conduire du village à la porte Machame, mais si ce n’est pas le cas, la marche boueuse de 3 km prendra environ 1 heure. Après vous être enregistré au guichet, vous commencez votre ascension et entrez presque immédiatement dans la forêt tropicale. Il y a une forte possibilité de pluie dans la forêt, kkèce qui transformera le sentier en une expérience très détrempée, boueuse et glissante. Vous prendrez un déjeuner de bienvenue à mi-chemin et rejoindrez le camping Machame en fin d’après-midi.

Vos porteurs (arrivant au camping bien avant vous) auront érigé votre tente à votre arrivée. Dans la soirée, les porteurs feront bouillir de l'eau de boisson et de la lessive et le cuisinier préparera le dîner avant de vous retirer sous votre tente pour la nuit. Les températures nocturnes peuvent déjà tomber au point de congélation dans ce camping.


Jour 2: camp de Machame (2980 m) - camp de Shira (3840 m)

Durée de la randonnée: 6h

Distance: environ 9 km

Habitat: marais

Vous vous levez tôt au camp de Machame et, après le petit-déjeuner, montez une heure environ au sommet de la forêt, puis 2 heures plus doucement dans la zone de landes. Après un court repas et un peu de repos, vous continuez sur une crête rocheuse sur le plateau de Shira. A présent, vous pourrez voir dans une direction est la brèche occidentale avec ses magnifiques glaciers. Vous êtes maintenant à l'ouest de Kibo et après une courte randonnée, vous arriverez au camping Shira à 3 840 m. Les porteurs feront bouillir de l'eau de boisson et de la lessive avant de servir le dîner. La nuit dans ce camp exposé sera encore plus froide que la nuit précédente, avec des températures descendant bien en dessous de zéro.


Jour 3 Shira (à 3840m) de la tour de lave (à 4630m) au campement de Barranco (à 3950m)

Durée de la randonnée: 7h

Distance: environ 15 km

Habitat: semi-désertique

La route tourne maintenant vers l’est et se transforme en un paysage semi-désertique et rocheux entourant la tour de lave, où vous atteignez une altitude de 4630 m après environ 5 heures de marche. Le déjeuner est servi dans une zone désignée avant de monter le chemin d'éboulis rocheux jusqu'à la tour de lave (4630 m). C'est définitivement le jour le plus difficile jusqu'à présent. C'est normalement autour de ce point où, pour la première fois, certains alpinistes vont commencer à ressentir des symptômes d'essoufflement, d'irritabilité et de maux de tête. Après le déjeuner, vous redescendez de près de 680 m vers la zone de camping de Barranco et, après avoir atteint la haute altitude de 4600 m à la tour de lave, le véritable avantage de l’acclimatation de cette journée devient évident. Cette descente vers le camp de Barranco prend environ 2 heures et offre de belles opportunités de prendre de superbes photographies de la brèche occidentale et du mur de brèche. Le camp est situé dans une vallée en contrebas de Breach et du Grand Barranco, ce qui devrait vous permettre de profiter d’un coucher de soleil mémorable en attendant la préparation de votre dîner.


Jour 4 Camp Barranco (3950m) - Camp Barafu (4550m)

Durée de la randonnée: 7h

Distance: environ 13 km

Habitat: désert alpin

Après avoir passé une nuit au Great Barranco Wall (un spectacle très imposant au premier abord), vous frayez un chemin jusqu’à cet impressionnant obstacle qui, au final, se révèle normalement plus facile que prévu. Juste en dessous du glacier Heim, vous comprenez maintenant à quel point le Kilimandjaro est magnifique. La route descend ensuite dans la vallée de Karanga par des crêtes et des vallées intermédiaires, puis rejoint la route de Mweka. C’est la voie privilégiée du sommet, alors souvenez-vous-en. Tournez à gauche sur la crête et après environ une heure, vous atteignez le refuge Barafu.

La dernière escale sur la route est la vallée de Karranga, car il n’ya pas d’eau au camp de Barafu. Barafu est le mot swahili pour «glace» et c'est une zone de camping sombre et inhospitalière pour passer la nuit. Totalement exposées aux coups de vent toujours présents, les tentes sont plantées sur une crête étroite, pierreuse et dangereuse. Assurez-vous de vous familiariser avec le terrain avant la nuit pour éviter tout accident. Le sommet est maintenant à 1345m et vous ferez l'ascension finale la même nuit. Préparez votre équipement, votre bâton de ski et vos vêtements thermiques pour votre tentative de sommet. Cela devrait inclure le remplacement des piles de votre lampe frontale et de votre appareil photo et vous assurer de disposer également d’un jeu de rechange. Pour éviter le gel, il sera judicieux de transporter votre eau dans un ballon isotherme. Vers 1900 heures, couchez-vous et essayez de vous reposer et de dormir.


Jour 5 (tentative de sommet) Camp Barafu (4550m) - Pic Uhuru (5895m) - Mweka (3100m)

Durée de la randonnée: 8h pour atteindre le pic Uhuru, 7 - 8h pour descendre à Mweka

Distance: environ 7 km d'ascension - 23 km de descente

Habitat: éboulis et sommet recouverts de glace

Vous vous lèverez vers 23h30 et, après du thé et des biscuits, vous vous traînerez dans la nuit. Vous vous dirigez vers le nord-ouest et montez à travers de lourds éboulis vers Stella Point sur le bord du cratère. Pour de nombreux alpinistes, cette marche de six heures jusqu'à Stella Point est la plus difficile sur le plan mental et physique. À Stella Point (5685m), vous vous arrêterez pour un repos de courte durée et serez récompensé par le plus magnifique lever de soleil que vous puissiez jamais voir (si le temps le permet). De Stella Point, vous rencontrerez normalement de la neige tout au long de votre ascension de 2 heures jusqu'au pic Uhuru. Le temps que vous passerez sur le sommet dépendra des conditions météorologiques. Ne vous arrêtez pas ici trop longtemps, il sera extrêmement difficile de recommencer à cause du froid et de la fatigue. Profitez de votre accomplissement et d'une journée inoubliable pour le reste de votre vie. Le retour à Barafu du sommet prend environ 3 heures. Ici, vous aurez un repos bien mérité mais court et récupérerez le reste de votre équipement. La route n’est pas difficile et vous mènera le long du roc et des éboulis jusqu’à la lande et éventuellement à la forêt. Le camp est situé dans la haute forêt et on peut prévoir de la brume ou de la pluie en fin d'après-midi. Le dîner et l'eau de lavage seront préparés.


Jour 6 Camp de Mweka (3100m) - Porte de Mweka (1980m)

Durée de la randonnée: 3h

Distance: environ 15 km

Habitat: forêt

Après un petit-déjeuner bien mérité, votre personnel organisera une grande fête dansée et chantée. C'est ici, sur la montagne, que vous présenterez vos conseils au guide, aux guides assistants, aux chefs et aux porteurs. Après la célébration, vous redescendrez pendant trois heures à la porte de Mweka. Le parc national exige que tous les randonneurs signent leur nom pour recevoir un certificat d'achèvement. Les randonneurs qui ont atteint Stella Point (5685m) reçoivent des certificats verts et ceux qui ont atteint Uhuru Peak (5895m) reçoivent des certificats d'or. Après avoir reçu les certificats, les randonneurs descendent dans le village de Mweka pendant 1 heure (3 km). Un déjeuner chaud vous sera servi, puis vous retournerez à Arusha pour des averses attendues depuis longtemps et d'autres célébrations.


Ensuite, déposer à l'hôtel à Arusha / Moshi

Informations pratiques

Détails

Nombre minimum : 1 participants
Confirmation immédiate
Langues Proposées en
English
Modérées: Remboursement partiel - Annulation 5 jours avant la date de début de la réservation

Inclus

Bon a savoir

tips are exclussive of tour price & will be expected to tip

Point de rencontre

pick up from hotels in arusha & moshi

Dates disponibles à venir

21 Sep 2021 - 08:00  |  27 Sep 2021 - 08:00
$1,800.00 par personne · 20 place(s) restante(s)
22 Sep 2021 - 08:00  |  28 Sep 2021 - 08:00
$1,800.00 par personne · 20 place(s) restante(s)
23 Sep 2021 - 08:00  |  29 Sep 2021 - 08:00
$1,800.00 par personne · 20 place(s) restante(s)
24 Sep 2021 - 08:00  |  30 Sep 2021 - 08:00
$1,800.00 par personne · 20 place(s) restante(s)
25 Sep 2021 - 08:00  |  01 Oct 2021 - 08:00
$1,800.00 par personne · 20 place(s) restante(s)

Organisé par

safari soles is a mid size company dedicated to share an adventurous journey of exploring life and beauty of our country, like our clients we are passionate to learn, discover & explore the vast corners of the world. we therefore understand the excitement, constant thinking and yearning for every hour of everyday that a journey may cause and therefore invite you to partner with us on a stress-free journey in exploring this beautiful country with joy & much needed fun!!!.

Avez-vous déjà essayé cette expérience ?
Vous pouvez recommander cette expérience à la communauté.
Votre note globale
A partir de
$1,800.00 / pp
Jusqu'à 20 personnes
Durée : 6 Jours
}

Mount kilimanjaro (highest in africa) machame route

6 Days
-02cg722YRV.jpeg
Mores pictures

THE KILIMANJARO 6 DAYS HIKE (machame route)

Kilimanjaro is the highest mountain in Africa

The Machame route, also known as the "Whiskey" route, is the most popular route on Kilimanjaro. Machame’s draw is in its scenic beauty. However, the trail is considered difficult, steep and challenging, particularly due to its shorter itinerary. Therefore this route is better suited for more adventurous folks or those with some high altitude, hiking or backpacking experience.

Day 1  Machame Gate (1490m) – Machame Camp (2980m)

Hiking time: 7 hours

Distance: Approximately 18 kilometers

Habitat: Montane forest

After an early breakfast at your hotel, you will be picked up from Arusha (1400m) and driven to the Machame Village. In the village, you can buy mineral water and will receive a packed lunch. From the village, depending on the road conditions, you will either continue to drive from the village to the Machame gate, but if not, the muddy 3 km walk will take about 1 hour to complete. After registering at the gate office, you start your ascent and enter the rain forest almost immediately. There is a strong possibility of rain in the forest, which will transform the trail into a very soggy, muddy and slippery experience. You will have a welcome lunch stop about half way and will reach the Machame camping area in the late afternoon.

Your porters (arriving at the camp site long before you) will have erected your tent on your arrival. In the evening the porters will boil drinking and washing water and the cook will prepare dinner, before you retire to your tent for the night. Night temperatures can already drop to freezing point at this campsite.

Day 2  Machame camp (2980m) – Shira camp (3840m)

Hiking time: 6h

Distance: Approximately 9 km

Habitat: Moorland

You rise early at Machame camp and after breakfast you climb an hour or so to the top of the forest and then for 2 hours at a gentler gradient through the moorland zone. After a short lunch and rest, you continue up a rocky ridge onto the Shira plateau. By now you will be able to see in an easterly direction, the Western Breach with its stunning glaciers. You are now due west of Kibo and after a short hike you will reach the Shira campsite at 3 840m. The porters will boil drinking and washing water, before serving dinner. The night at this exposed camp will even be colder than the previous night, with temperatures dropping to well below freezing.

Day 3  Shira (at 3840m) to Lava Tower (at 4630m) to Barranco camp (at 3950m)

Hiking time: 7h

Distance: Approximately 15 km

Habitat: Semi-desert

The route now turns east into a semi desert and rocky landscape surrounding Lava Tower, where you reach an altitude of 4630m after about a 5 hours walk. Lunch is served in a designated area before ascending the rocky scree path to Lava Tower (4630m). This is definitely the toughest day so far. It is normally around this point, where for the first time, some climbers will start to feel symptoms of breathlessness, irritability and headaches. After lunch you descent again by almost 680m to the Barranco camping area and after reaching the high altitude of 4600m at Lava Tower, the true acclimatisation benefit of this day becomes clear. This descent to Barranco camp takes about 2 hours and offers great opportunities to take some beautiful photographs of the Western Breach and Breach Wall. The camp is situated in a valley below the Breach and Great Barranco Wall, which should provide you with a memorable sunset while you wait for the preparation of your dinner.

Day 4  Barranco camp (3950m)- Barafu camp (4550m)

Hiking time: 7h

Distance: Approximately 13 km

Habitat: Alpine desert

After spending a night at the Great Barranco Wall (a very imposing sight at first), you make your way up this awesome looking obstacle, which in the end normally turns out easier than what you anticipated. Topping out just below the Heim Glacier, you now appreciate just how beautiful Kilimanjaro really is. The route then heads down through the Karanga Valley over intervening ridges and valleys, and then joins up with the Mweka route. This is the preferred route down from the summit, so remember it. Turn left up the ridge and after another hour or so, you reach Barafu Hut.
The last water stop on the route is the Karranga Valley, as there is no water at Barafu camp. Barafu is the Swahili word for “ice” and it is a bleak and inhospitable camping area to spend the night. Totally exposed to the ever-present gales the tents are pitched on a narrow, stony, and dangerous ridge. Make sure that you familiarize yourself with the terrain before dark to avoid any accidents. The summit is now a further 1345m up and you will make the final ascent the same night. Prepare your equipment, ski stick and thermal clothing for your summit attempt. This should include the replacement of your headlamp and camera batteries and make sure you have a spare set available as well. To prevent freezing it will be wise to carry your water in a thermal flask. Go to bed at round about 1900 hours and try to get some precious rest and sleep.

Day 5  (Summit attempt) Barafu camp (4550m) – Uhuru Peak (5895m) – Mweka (3100m)

Hiking time: 8h to reach Uhuru Peak, 7 – 8h to descend to Mweka

Distance: Approximately 7 km ascent – 23 km descent

Habitat: Stone scree and ice-capped summit

You will rise around 23h30, and after some tea and biscuits you shuffle off into the night. You will head in a north-westerly direction and ascend through heavy scree towards Stella Point on the crater rim. For many climbers, this 6-hour walk to Stella point is mentally and physically the most challenging on the route. At Stella Point (5685m) you will stop for a short rest and will be rewarded with the most magnificent sunrise you are ever likely to see (weather permitting). From Stella Point you will normally encounter snow all the way on your 2-hour ascent to Uhuru Peak. The time you will spend on the summit will depend on the weather conditions. Do not stop here for too long, as it will be extremely difficult to start again due to cold and fatigue. Enjoy your accomplishment and a day to remember for the rest of your live. The walk back to Barafu from the summit, takes about 3 hours. Here you will have a well earned but short rest and collect the rest of your gear. The route is not difficult and will take you down the rock and scree path into the moorland and eventually into the forest. The camp is situated in the upper forest and mist or rain can be expected in the late afternoon. Dinner and washing water will be prepared.

Day 6  Mweka camp (3100m) – Mweka Gate (1980m)

Hiking time: 3h
Distance: Approximately 15 km
Habitat: Forest

Following a well-deserved breakfast, your staff will have a big celebration full of dancing and singing. It is here on the mountain that you will present your tips to the guide, assistant guides, chef(s), and porters. After celebrating, you will descend for three hours back to Mweka Gate. The National Park requires all hikers to sign their names to receive certificates of completion. Hikers who reached Stella Point (5685m) receive green certificates and hikers who reached Uhuru Peak (5895m) receive gold certificates. After receiving certificates, hikers will descend into the Mweka village for 1 hour (3 kilometers). You will be served a hot lunch then you will drive back to Arusha for long overdue showers and more celebrations.

Afterwards drop of to hotel in Arusha/moshi

Useful informations

Details

Minimun of 1 participants is required
Instants Bookings
Available Languages
English
Moderate: Partial refund if cancellation is within 5 days of booking

Included

Good to know

tips are exclussive of tour price & will be expected to tip

Meeting Point

pick up from hotels in arusha & moshi

Upcoming Availibilities

24 Oct 2019 - 08:00  |  30 Oct 2019 - 08:00
$1,800.00 per person · 20 spots left
25 Oct 2019 - 08:00  |  31 Oct 2019 - 08:00
$1,800.00 per person · 20 spots left
26 Oct 2019 - 08:00  |  01 Nov 2019 - 08:00
$1,800.00 per person · 20 spots left
27 Oct 2019 - 08:00  |  02 Nov 2019 - 08:00
$1,800.00 per person · 20 spots left
28 Oct 2019 - 08:00  |  03 Nov 2019 - 08:00
$1,800.00 per person · 20 spots left

Organized By

safari soles is a mid size company dedicated to share an adventurous journey of exploring life and beauty of our country, like our clients we are passionate to learn, discover & explore the vast corners of the world. we therefore understand the excitement, constant thinking and yearning for every hour of everyday that a journey may cause and therefore invite you to partner with us on a stress-free journey in exploring this beautiful country with joy & much needed fun!!!.

Did you already try this experience ?
By sharing your reviews you will recommand this experience to the community.
Your overall rating
From
$1,800.00 / pp
Up to 20 peoples
Durée : 6 Days
}